Leafs announce camp roster — Toronto Sun

Read More

Leafs announce camp roster — Toronto Sun

Leafs announce camp roster

Lance HornbyMore from Lance Hornby

Published:July 12, 2020

Updated:July 12, 2020 10:34 AM EDT

Summer hockey is here for the Maple Leafs.

The club announced its 34-man training camp roster Sunday morning ahead of Monday’s official start of training camp for the 24-team Return To Play tournament for the Stanley Cup.

Toronto, which opens a best-of-five qualifying round Aug. 2 against the Columbus Blue Jackets at Scotiabank Arena, will have all hands on deck from the postponed regular season, including players such as Auston Matthews and Frederik Andersen, who spent much of the four-month COVID-19 suspension of games in the United States. Matthews, who tested positive for the condition last month and others coming from outside Canada either self quarantined before or are part of the NHL bubble, arranged with the Canadian government to keep returning players within bounds of the rink and hotel during the 12-team Eastern Conference part of the tournament, in and around SBA.

As expected, the Leafs added junior draft pick sensation Nick Robertson to the roster at forward, along with AHL Marlies top scorer Kenny Agostino. On defence, youngster Mac Hollowell and prospect Teemu Kivihalme are coming, too, with rookie goalie Joseph Woll behind Andersen, Jack Campbell and Kasimir Kaskisuo.

Ilya Mikheyev, who suffered a serious wrist tendon injury in December has returned, but winger Andreas Johnsson (knee surgery)  is still out. Only 31 players will be picked for the tournament.

The rest of the roster, listed here, played at some point for the Leafs prior to the stoppage in play when the COVID-19 pandemic began raging in early March. General manager Kyle Dubas was to address the media Sunday afternoon.


Kenny Agostino

Adam Brooks

Kyle Clifford

Pierre Engvall

Tyler Gaudet

Frederik Gauthier

Zach Hyman

Kasperi Kapanen

Alex Kerfoot

Egor Korshkov

Denis Malgin

Mitch Marner

Auston Matthews

Ilya Mikheyev

William Nylander

Nicholas Robertson

Jason Spezza

John Tavares


Tyson Barrie

Cody Ceci

Travis Dermott

Justin Holl

Mac Hollowell

Teemu Kivilhalme

Timothy Liljegren

Martun Marincin

Jake Muzzin

Morgan Rielly

Calle Rosen

Rasmus Sandin


Frederik Andersen

Jack Campbell

Kasimir Kaskisuo

Joseph Woll0 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s